My Cup Runneth Over

image

I tend to be a pessimist.  I’ll admit it.  I’m not proud.  In fact, I’m working on changing it.  There’s only so much change I can do “all by myself” (as my 2 year old would say).  In fact, I decided today to commit this matter to prayer.  I even posted about changing my mindset on Facebook.  Maybe my cyber friends will help hold me accountable.

There are many reasons why I’ve decided to put a great effort to change.  I saw something on Facebook a few weeks ago that has stuck in my head.  It went something like this:  “A pessimist says the glass is half empty.  An optimist says the glass is half full.  A child of God says my cup runneth over.” This was followed by Psalm 23 typed out (“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want…”) Whoa.  I’m a child of God.  Jesus Christ is my Savior.  So why am I always thinking the worst, worrying, trying to figure out if that message from whomever (including the Huzz!) has a hidden meaning, etc, etc.  Crazy, I know!  But I tend to confess things on the internet and lay it all out so here it is!  From now on, I’m going to challenge myself to think of many little positive things to remind myself that my cup runneth over.

Another reason why I need to change is to bring joy to others around me.  Mainly, the Huzz and my toddler SG.  When the Huzz walks in after a long day at work, I slam him with what was wrong in my day.  :::I’m hanging my head and looking shamefully down at the floor:::  The Huzz nicely told me that he doesn’t want to hear all negative things right when he walks in the door- and you know what?  I wouldn’t want to hear that either.  Sometimes, words spoken in love pierce the heart and bring about earnest change.

“The LORD is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot.  The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.” Psalm 16: 5-6

I searched for bible verses to confirm this decision and found the above verse.  I need to dwell on the pleasant places and the fact that I DO have a beautiful inheritance, in Christ Jesus.  And when the negative thoughts try to invade my mind (and they surely do!), I can recite my chosen verses to combat the negativity and bring peace to my mind and heart.

Another verse I’ve found helpful and have actually memorized is 2nd Corinthians  10:5 “We take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”  I found this verse in the Unglued Devotional by Lysa TerKeurst and quickly memorized it, as at the exact moment I was battling fear and worry over something.  Isn’t it awesome how the Lord shows us just what we need when we need it?

My cup runneth over!  Until next time, my friend.

4 thoughts on “My Cup Runneth Over

  1. Congrats on your first post! 🙂

    ‘Sometimes, words spoken in love pierce the heart and bring about earnest change.’
    SO TRUE! Aren’t husbands the best (sometimes…lol…haha…kidding)!!!

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Bible Verses | My Blessed Life

  3. Pingback: Be at Rest Once More | My Blessed Life

Leave a Reply

