Roaring like a Lion

image

 

My toddler SG loves singing and dancing. Her most requested songs are “Faithful”, “Jeans” and “Roaring like a Lion”. Ever heard of them? Probably not by those names. Those aren’t the real names of the songs. Faithful is “Chorus of the Saints” by Revive, Jeans is “Free to be Me” by Francesca Battistelli, and Roaring like a Lion…well, I don’t even know the real name of that one. It’s played by K-Love throughout the day. Do you know that one? Maybe you can help me out. Here are some of the lyrics: “My God’s not dead, He’s surely alive, He’s living on the inside, Roaring like a Lion.”

I LOVE that she loves these songs. She runs around in circles, with a huge grin on her face, singing the lyrics she’s memorized. It warms my heart when she lifts her little arms up high and shouts “Our God is faithful!” (Chorus of the Saints, hence her calling the song Faithful)

I purposefully choose carefully what songs she listens to. I don’t want her learning just any song. I know, maybe you think I’m overprotective, and you know what? I am. But I’m planting seeds here. If I don’t plant seeds and train her up, the world will.

These songs provide little opportunities for sowing seeds. Just the other day, after jumping around the kitchen and scream singing “Roaring like a Lion,” I explained the “He’s living on the inside” part of the song. I told her Jesus lives in my heart and one day Jesus can live in her heart if she just asks. She then replied with a random toddler answer like “Can we have a tea party?” And you know what? That’s okay. Right now I’m sowing seeds, praying for a big harvest for my daughter and trusting God with the results.

“Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

Until next time, my friend. Roar!

One thought on “Roaring like a Lion

Leave a Reply

