Dairy and Egg Free Meatballs

image

Food allergies are hard to deal with. Yet, it’s not an insurmountable task, as some think. Whenever I mention to anyone my daughter is allergic to eggs and all things dairy, I usually hear either “What do you feed her?” or “I could never do that!” To the latter, I always reply- “If you had to do it for your child, you just would.” It’s as simple as that. I adapt. I tweak recipes- sometimes it fails and most times the recipes taste just fine.

Here’s what has recently become one of our favorites: Meatballs! I’ll list the recipe in a bit, but here is how we use meatballs in different ways:

* Over polenta (use chicken broth instead of water, add a little dried sage, and some Blue Bonnet Light margarine or other “safe” margarine.)  It’s so creamy and the sage gives it a holiday like taste. Simmer the meatballs with safe spaghetti sauce and you’ll not believe how divine this tastes!
* With pasta and safe spaghetti sauce. We use “Bertolli Olive Oil and Garlic” spaghetti sauce. Serve with safe noodles. We use Full Circle pasta- all varieties. Just make sure the box does not say “Made in a facility that also processes milk and eggs.” I buy both the whole wheat and the “regular” wheat noodles and mix them together. I feel a little healthier that way.
* Meatball subs! We’ve not found safe breads for SG and usually have to make our own. However, crescent rolls are safe. So, I tried a Pillsbury loaf of bread that pops out of the container with similar ingredients and it was safe! I popped some frozen pre-cooked meatballs in with the Bertolli spaghetti sauce and let them simmer. Add the bread and some healthy veggies on the side and you have a quick meal. We just skip the cheese!
*As your main protein. That’s easy. Just heat the meatballs and add some sides. One of my favorite sides is the steam in the bag broccoli florets. So easy and healthy!
*In homemade pizzas. I’ve yet to try this one but will soon. I just have to figure out a better dough. Anyone have a good dairy and egg free pizza dough recipe for me? The plan for the toppings will be cut up meatballs and pizza sauce topped with onions and green peppers.

image

Here’s my dairy free and egg free meatball recipe:

Ingredients:
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
1 tsp jarred minced garlic (or 2 fresh minced garlic cloves or a little garlic powder)
1 lb ground chuck
1 flax egg (Milled flax seed: 1 Tbsp milled flax seed plus 3 Tbsp of water. Mix thoroughly and let sit until it reaches the consistency of an egg white)
1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 cup HyVee brand Panko breadcrumbs (or similar brand- these are safe for us)
6 Tbs ketchup (we use Simply Heinz)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Sauté the garlic (unless using the garlic powder) and onion in a pan with the heated olive oil for about 5 minutes. Meanwhile, dump everything else into a large bowl. When the onions and garlic are cooked, add to bowl (be careful- it’s hot!). Shape into palm sized meatballs or to your desired size. We make them pretty large. I line a baking sheet with foil and put the meatballs on that. Bake the meatballs from anywhere to 15-25 minutes, depending on the size of the meatballs. Use immediately or let the meatballs cool completely and wrap each meatball in plastic wrap and then put in a freezer safe plastic baggie. I freeze them in quantities of 6 per bag, as that’s the amount we need for our family per meatball meal. I find it’s easier for me to quickly grab a bag of meatballs instead of counting out the number of meatballs I need each time. Label and date the bag. You now have a batch of meatballs ready to go for any meal!

image

I like to make a double batch of these meatballs and freeze them. There’s nothing better than a quick and safe convenience meal pulled from your freezer that YOU MADE! Happy rolling!!!

4 thoughts on “Dairy and Egg Free Meatballs

  1. Pingback: The Freezer is my Best Friend: Tips for Dinner in a Flash | My Blessed Life

  2. Pingback: Dairy, Egg, and Peanut Free Homemade Uncrustables | My Blessed Life

  3. Pingback: The Menu Plan: Week of May 19, 2013 | My Blessed Life

  4. Pingback: 16 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners! | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

