Milk is my Worst Nightmare

imageWhat seems like a healthy snack to most is my worst nightmare. My sweet toddler is highly allergic to milk and eggs. She breaks out in hives and her eyes swell if she even touches or ingests anything milk derived. The sippy cup full of milk a child is drinking in our art class or that bag full of Goldfish are seemingly so innocent… but not for us.

This is my life. Keeping SG safe is part of my daily life when we leave our house. Inside our house, we have no dairy and egg products. None. That makes cooking an adventure, but it’s not as hard as you think. It keeps her safe and that’s what matters. Besides, we actually eat healthier because of it. I have to make and bake most of our food.

Recently, I was stressed to the max because there were cheese crackers being eaten in a class where the kids are all jumping around and using shared equipment. By the way, this is an actual class led by a teacher- not play time or snack time. And there’s a sign on the door that says “No Food or Drinks.” Thank goodness my friend was there and is an extra set of eyes and is always on high alert. She warned me and I kindly asked the sweet mom to put the offending food away, which was lying on the floor in an open bag. I explained and she totally understood. I know people don’t know. I understand that. But the result was SG couldn’t participate in the rest of the class because several kids had eaten some and their hands had touched the equipment.

What’s a mom to do? We can’t live in a bubble. We don’t expect the world to change for us. But we should be able to sign up for a toddler class and be safe. I always feel so stressed when these things happen. I want to break down and cry, honestly. The life of a food allergy family is NOT easy. It’s even harder when the child is two and does not understand that she cannot eat what everybody else is eating or why mommy won’t let her touch certain things. I carry an EpiPen on me at all times and pray I never have to use it and then race to the emergency room.

“Cast your cares on the LORD, and he will sustain you.” Psalm 55:22
Lord, some days I need you to completely carry me. Hold me close and help me to be the best mom I can be. Help me to protect my baby and keep her safe.

I’m praying she grows out of these allergies.
“Oh LORD, my God, I called to you for help and you healed me.” Psalm 30:2
Please Lord, heal my child.

This little mama will remain on high alert, to keep my precious child alive and safe.

Thanks for listening and understanding, my friend.

10 thoughts on “Milk is my Worst Nightmare

  1. I hope she outgrows the allergy to milk and eggs! How do you feel about the fact that there are now peanut-free classrooms and accommodations for peanut allergies, but not so much for other anaphylactic allergies?

  2. I really hope your little one outgrows this too! I know how it feels to go somewhere where there is prepared food that you yourself didn’t prepare! You should see the looks I get from people when I ask them for the ingredient list for what they have prepared! My lil guy’s reaction to milk isn’t as severe, his is more of a gut reaction, literally, so ingesting is dangerous, but not skin contact. But this doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be careful. I’ve developed a VERY sharp eye! The docs have said he should outgrow this and I am hoping he does.

    • I know what you mean about looks… As I’m furiously wiping high chairs, seats, and tables I feel like I get looks from those around me. I’m sure they think I’m a crazy germophobe. Which, I kind of am now…

      It’s not easy is it? I hope both of our little ones outgrow their allergies.

      Thanks for commenting!!! 🙂

  3. I’ll never forget when my daughter (dairy/egg anaphylactic) was in my shopping cart when she was a toddler was offered goldfish crackers from a baby in another shopping cart and my daughter got very angry and started saying “what are you doing? You know I can’t eat that”…as if this baby could understand and knew all about food allergies…

  4. When my little one and I were sitting in the pediatrician’s office a family came in and started feeding their toddler goldfish. Lukas is only 2 (3 soon) and has never eaten them, but he immediately said, “itchy Mommy”. I started getting so irritated/worried/stressed… I had to take Lukas to the car for a moment and when we came back I wiped down a chair and told him he could only sit in that one because it is clean. I am CONSTANTLY telling him not to touch anything, but he never listens. The more touching I see the more stressed I get. His latest thing is picking up peoples dirty nasty cigarettes!!! GROSS and most likely allergenic!!! This last time I didn’t have any wipes in the car so I got very upset!

    • Oh man! How stressful! People have no idea how badly goldfish and cheez-its stress us food allergy mamas out – and how it can be fatal to our children!

      Btw, SG does the same as Lukas… Touches everything and then will put her fingers in her mouth… I about have a fit! With a smile on my face and my heart pounding, I try to calmly remind her to not touch anything and not put her fingers in her mouth.

      • Gwen had a horrible reaction (severe wheezing) just from playing with kids that were eating cheddar cheese lays potato chips once so now when I see those and doritos and cheetos I cringe…ugh and on the field trip her friend right next to her had orange fingers from doritos.

Leave a Reply

