Sofrito aka Magic Green Sauce

image

Sofrito is an important part of Puerto Rican cuisine. According to my mom, sofrito is a unique seasoning that is a special blend of fresh veggies, herbs and spices. It’s sort of like a salsa that you can cook with and adds a little pizzaz to your dishes.

Here is OUR family recipe for sofrito, which has been handed down for generations: from my great-grandmother to my grandmother, from my grandmother to my mother, and from my mother to me.

Sofrito
Ingredients:
1 bunch of cilantro, with ends cut off
whole sweet onion, sliced
green pepper, sliced
one small fresh garlic bulb OR 2 tablespoons garlic powder
1-2 Tbs. green spanish olives, with pimentos
some olive juice
sea salt
oregano
pepper
some “Adobo” Spanish seasoning (found in the Spanish foods aisle at most grocery stores)
(For the sea salt, oregano, pepper, and Adobo, I kind of just sprinkle some in- there are no measurements!)

image

Directions:
1. Throw all ingredients (prepped as directed above) in a blender or food processor. (I’ve used both and a big food processor works better.) Blend until smooth. It should resemble green mush. Note: You may need to add a drizzle of olive oil to start the blending process.
2. Use in stews, beans, red rice, soups, chicken and rice dishes, etc.
3. I pour this mixture into ice cube trays and freeze them. When frozen, put cubes in freezer bag and take out as needed.

image

I just learned something new about sofrito when I called my mom to get her advice describing sofrito. She said my great-grandmother used to make this fresh everyday and my grandmother made it fresh and used it up in about a week. However, my grandmother later decided to blend it all up in a blender and my mom decided to freeze it because she wasn’t using the sofrito fast enough. Now on to me- I use it a few times a month, so I definitely need to freeze it! I generally use it within three-four months and it has still tasted great.

You can add sofrito to chicken and rice dishes, chicken and rice soup (I have a delicious soup I’ve created and will post soon), beef and pork, picadillo (a wonderfully seasoned ground beef served over rice), beans and more. The sky is the limit!

I will post recipes that use sofrito soon. In the meantime, break out the blender and get your sofrito on! You won’t regret it. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Sofrito aka Magic Green Sauce

  1. Pingback: Sopa de Arroz con Pollo (Chicken & Rice Soup) | Blessed Little Family

  2. Pingback: The Freezer is my Best Friend Part 2: More Easy Ground Beef Recipes | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: Homemade Mojo Pork Tenderloin | Blessed Little Family

  4. Pingback: Puerto Rican Black Beans | Blessed Little Family

  5. Pingback: 28 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

