My Favorite Bible Verses

image

I really never tried to memorize bible verses until my 30’s. I knew a few from hearing them at church. I even memorized one when I was in college: “I can all do things through him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13 But that was it. I had never thought to memorize bible verses and use them in my life. That is, until The Lord got my attention and showed me through small group, church, and bible studies the importance of hiding His word in my heart.

My repertoire of memorized verses is not as vast as I’d like it to be. Truthfully, remembering stuff is just not my thing. I struggle with it. Ya know, going from the bedroom to the kitchen and forgetting what you went to get or do? That’s me. However, I have made an effort to memorize some key verses for my life.

I’m going to share some of my memory verses with you. I didn’t memorize them all at once. Usually a struggle or life event happens that prompts me to search the scriptures and find a verse I can memorize and hold onto and repeat as many times as I need to.

“O Lord, my God, I called to you for help and you healed me.” Psalm 30:2
I found this verse (and many others) when I had a sub-chorionic hemorrhage when pregnant with SG. I chose this verse to memorize during the awful ordeal and repeated it SO many times. Sometimes in tears, sometimes to chase away the worry, and even in rejoicing as I healed. I now pray this verse for SG and her food allergies.

“I prayed for this child, and the LORD has granted me what I asked of him.” 1 Samuel 1:27
I clung to this verse during our journey through infertility. Long before we conceived, I found this verse at a Christian book store on a ceramic cross, took a pic with my camera phone, and kept it as my screen saver. I prayed this even more throughout my pregnancy.

“He settles the barren woman in her home as a happy mother of children. Praise The Lord.” Psalm 113:9
I read this many times through our infertility trials and still read it now, as we wish and pray for baby number two.

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, Oh Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” Psalm 19:14
We were challenged at a bible study to write three things on one side of an index card we could work on in our lives. One of the things I wrote down was “Thoughts”. The challenge was to find a bible verse to combat the three things. I found this verse and quickly memorized it. I find this verse covers so much: my words, my tone, my heart, my thoughts, and are they pleasing to The Lord? Sometimes the answer is yes. Sadly, sometimes the answer is no.

“We take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2nd Corinthians 10:5
I wrote about this verse and worrying in my very first post on the blog, “My Cup Runneth Over“. I am a worrier. I know I shouldn’t be and I’m working on it. I know there is a verse about worrying I need to find and memorize. When I worry and when my thoughts stray to somewhere they should not, I silently recite this verse in my mind.

“I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.” Psalm 4:8
I had a time where I kept having bad dreams and quickly memorized this verse. It brings me much comfort to recite this verse silently over and over until I fall back asleep again. Recently, SG woke up crying and I prayed this verse over her and rubbed her little head and she was instantly calmed and drifted right back to sleep.

I wrote a few verses on an index card and keep it in my bible. It’s a great visual reminder to myself.

These are some of my favorite verses- not all of them. Do you have some favorite bible verses? Memorized or not, please share!

Leave a Reply

