Worn

image

“I’m tired
I’m worn
My heart is heavy
From the work it takes to keep on breathing…”

That’s the beginning of yet another wonderful and soul baring song by Tenth Avenue North. Have you heard it? Here’s a few more verses from the song Worn:

“And my prayers are wearing thin.
I’m worn, even before the day begins…”

Ever feel that way? I know I do. Not all the time. Just sometimes. Sometimes when life feels extra hard, I feel worn down.

Like this morning. Trying to decide if I should let SG eat a small piece of Sara Lee bread. I called and spoke to a manager. The bread is processed on a line that also processes milk, but not made directly after a milk product. And the line is cleaned thoroughly after each product. Not a big deal, right? Wrong. I stressed so much over this decision. I felt worn. In a tizzy. As I was sitting there, at 7:30 this morning, this song came on through K-Love. I feel The Lord gives me the right songs at just the right moments. They calm me and remind me that The Lord is in control. When I’m worn, I sometimes loose sight of that. (If you are reading my blog for the first time, my toddler is EXTREMELY allergic to milk and introducing new foods is a source of stress and anxiety for me.)

Then I started thinking about other areas of my life (infertility) and the lives of my friends and family. This song can apply to all of us in some way. We all get a little worn. Sometimes “even before the day begins.”

I’m reminded of the verse that touched me so deeply a few weeks ago.

“Be at rest once more, O my soul, for The Lord has been good to you.”
Psalm 116:7

This verse has been repeated silently so many times in my mind in the last few weeks. When I feel envy, sorrow, anxiety and just plain worn down.

This is not intended to be a sad post. Here’s the best part… The Lord can give you rest. Psalm 91 tells us “He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart… ‘Because he loves me,’ says The Lord, ‘I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him'” (verses 4, 14-15.)

You must only believe that He died for your sin. Him for you. Call upon him.

“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.”
John 3:16-17

That is my hope. My rest. My Jesus.

“Let me see redemption win
Let me know the struggle ends
That you can mend a heart that’s frail and torn

I want to know a song can rise
From the ashes of a broken life
And all that’s dead inside can be reborn
Cause I’m worn”
Worn by Tenth Avenue North

What about you, my friend? Are you worn? I’m feeling much better now than this morning. Talks with a great friend, reflection of these scriptures and prayer, reminding myself of my blessings rather than my struggles… it has all refreshed me. I’m once again ready to be at rest.

Whatever you’re dealing with: infertility, family problems, life threatening food allergies, a frightening diagnosis- I hope that you find rest in the One who created you and loves you. He’s waiting for you to turn to Him.

Leave a Reply

