Getting it Together

imageBefore SG, I was quite the homemaker. Then came my long awaited pregnancy and it all came to a crashing halt. Then adjusting to life with a baby…well, that adjustment period lasted almost two years!

I feel like only in the past few months have I really gotten my groove back. I’m finding a new groove- a new me. And I like her!

I’m finally figuring out how to keep the house tidy, have a happy child (somewhat, she’s 2!!!), and get dinner on the table (dairy and egg free) almost every night! Let me tell you my biggest discovery, which I’ve already written about once before (click hereΒ to read it.) My FREEZER! Y’all, it has changed my life!!!

I’m serious. I have realized I do things in spurts. Some days I’m the amazing super wife and super mommy and sometimes I’m a giant blob who barely moves. (Or only shops and avoids cooking and cleaning. Did I really just admit that???)

When I’m hot, I’m hot! If chicken is on sale, I won’t buy just one package. Instead, I get excited about saving money and I’ll buy 5-10 packages and have a chicken mini-freezer marathon. The same thing with beef.

I spend my evenings (after SG goes to bed) perusing the internet for new recipes to make and freeze. I just love freezer cooking.

As for tidying the house, I try to vacuum at least every other day, fold the laundry mmmm… a few days after it’s clean… then put it up a few days later… Okay, so that part is not yet perfected. But I’m getting there! I actually ironed some clothes for the Huzz this week- the first time in a year!

Even the Huzz said he feels like he has his old wife back. Yay!

While I’m not perfect and please hear this- I’m not saying I’ll ever be- I am getting it together.

What about you? How do you manage things? Do you love your freezer? Do you have any tried and true freezer recipes to share with me?

6 thoughts on “Getting it Together

  1. Haha! I totally relate to this. I was just saying to someone last week that the store will be 2 in September and I totally feel like the mom of an almost 2 year old. πŸ™‚ The store is my 3rd child in so many ways and it’s so wonderful to be moving out of the infant and early toddler stages to the older toddler stages. Creating systems that are easy and duplicatible is key for me. I use MacGourmet for cooking. It keeps all my recipes on my computer and I can quickly pull a few together into a menu planner for the week. It generates a shopping list with a click that I can easily edit and add grocery store preference and aisle info to it. I print the list and my shopping is way faster with many fewer additional items falling into my cart. i can also easily add recipes from websites that I find. I’ve added several more recently thanks to you. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, I am so glad to hear about your ironing. I haven’t ironed in OVER a year! πŸ™‚ Not something I’m proud of, though. I plan to incorporate it into my schedule again soon. I usually only freeze breakfast foods such as pancakes and burritos. Thinking of doing biscuits too. It’s our busiest time of day so it’s wonderful to pop it in the microwave and go. I also freeze cooked meat. I know you do too. It just makes life easier when you can take a few shortcuts here and there.

    Glad to hear you’ve got your groove on!! Woot, woot! πŸ™‚

    • Okay, I’m happy to hear I’m not alone in the ironing department. My goal is to improve that, but I’m making baby steps. The Huzz told me his number one wish is having a home cooked meal, so that is my main focus for now (besides SG, of course!!!)

      I freeze breakfast foods too, for SG. Great minds think alike! πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: The Freezer is my Best Friend Part 2: More Easy Ground Beef Recipes | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

