Vacationing with Food Allergies

image

Vacation. If you’re a food allergy parent, this word might strike fear in your heart. If you’re not a food allergy parent, you might be jumping for joy. We’ve vacationed since SG was born, but this has been the first time we’ve vacationed that she is really aware of what’s going on.

Here are some of the things and ways we prepared for our vacation visiting our families.

Cook and bake like crazy:
I sat down and wrote a list of everything I needed to make, bake and buy for our vacation. Vegan blueberry muffins, vegan banana bread, crustless PB&J sandwiches, homemade chicken and rice soup, BBQ beef, chocolate chip cookies, cupcakes, twenty something Silk yogurts, our Silk coffee creamers, and other safe snacks.

Here are the links to the recipes I used. I made or baked them and froze them. I then went out and bought the biggest cooler I could find. We took the cooler with us, filled with safe foods.

Vegan muffins (I subbed frozen blueberries for the chocolate chips. Note: The first time I made this I used canola oil and the second time I used the suggested coconut oil. I personally prefer the muffins with canola oil. Just my preference.)
http://www.egglesscooking.com/2012/05/18/vegan-chocolate-chip-muffins-recipe/

Vegan banana bread (I omitted the nuts and made these into mini loaves. It was the perfect serving size for SG for breakfast. I doubled the recipe and ended up with 16 mini loaves of banana bread.)
http://www.egglesscooking.com/2011/02/24/vegan-banana-bread/

image

Safe chocolate chip cookies
http://silk.com/recipes/chocolate-chip-cookies

image

Crustless Sandwiches (Since writing that post, I have found a safe commercial bread!)
https://blessedlittlefamily.wordpress.com/2013/04/26/dairy-egg-and-peanut-free-homemade-uncrustables/

BBQ Beef (lunch served on Pillsbury Crescent Rounds and safe potato chips)
http://onceamonthmom.com/barbecue-beef-sandwiches/
http://onceamonthmom.com/homemade-bbq-sauce/

Make Dinner Plans:
Since we were visiting both families, I spoke with both mothers and came up with a plan. In the past, we all ate whatever and I made her a special dinner. She never noticed. Now she does. And I didn’t want to make her feel different. We decided I would cook all dinners for my family while at my parent’s house. When we visited the in-laws, they wanted to cook the meals (with my approval to keep SG safe.) I chose recipes to serve my family that didn’t need substituting. If you’ve read my menu plans, they are recipes I have in constant rotation in our day-to-day life.

Here are the links to the recipes I made for my family on vacation:

20-40 Garlic Clove Chicken (I doubled the recipe. I served this with zucchini tossed in olive oil and salt and pepper, sautéed in a pan. I also baked up two bags of Ore-Ida’s zesty french fries. Yes, I was feeding a crowd!)
http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2009/04/crockpot-20-to-40-clove-garlic-chicken.html

Ally’s 20 Minute Stir Fry (I used the leftover chicken from the garlic chicken, doubled the recipe and served the stir fry over rice.)
http://www.sweetandsavoryfood.com/2013/04/20-minute-skillet-stir-fry.html

I also made my homemade chicken and rice soup or arroz con pollo soup (recipe will be posted soon!). I made that at home and froze it in gallon ziploc bags. I defrosted it and added a little extra chicken broth and baked some crescent rolls. That was an easy dinner. I also made spaghetti for everyone using safe noodles, Bertolli sauce and more crescent rolls. 🙂

image

I spread the baking and cooking out over 2 weeks time. I kept a list on the fridge and slowly worked my way through it.

Think Everything Through and Try to be as Prepared as Possible:
I also asked the allergist for another prescription for Epi-Pens, as one of our sets of parents live up a mountain with a hospital quite a ways away. We traveled with six Epi-Pens and lots of Benadryl. And lots of prayer!

Since I knew I would be cooking, I brought my own pots and pans. The risk of cross contamination scares me. I also purchased duplicates of things I needed like olive oil, canola oil, safe margarine, vinegar, soy sauce, ketchup, etc. I did not want to try anything new on vacation.

I want to send a huge shout out to my parents and sister who went dairy and egg free when we were in town. My father, who loves his evaporated milk in his coffee, suffered through soy creamer just for SG. Thanks Datty! My sister went as far as to have a dairy free and egg free birthday party for her three year old, which is the reason we traveled (for the party.) Click here to read how to have a rockin’ party, DF and EF!

How do you “do” vacation? If you’re a food allergy parent, have you found vacation relaxing or stressful? The preparation is a lot of work, but TOTALLY worth it! Do you have any tips on how to vacation smoothly? Please share.

4 thoughts on “Vacationing with Food Allergies

  1. I am not a food allergy parent, I have a hard time with vacationing, with non-allergy children. I can’t even imagine what’s like with all the added barriers. I mean, toddlers on vacations can actually be more work!

  2. Pingback: Sopa de Arroz con Pollo (Chicken & Rice Soup) | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: Basic Dairy Free and Egg Free Breakfast Ideas | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

