Basic Dairy Free and Egg Free Breakfast Ideas

image

These recipes will not knock your socks off due to creativity. They will probably not be shared all over Facebook. But, they are yummy, dairy free, egg free, and very budget friendly. That means these recipes are PERFECT for us.

Oatmeal: Told ya. Not creative. But healthy and safe. I buy a huge container of quick oats for around $2. Use a microwave safe bowl. Scoop 1/4 c of quick oats in the bowl and add 1/2 c almond milk (or any non-dairy milk or water). Microwave for approximately 90 seconds. Mix well and add desired toppings. I use a little bit of brown sugar and toss in frozen blueberries for SG’s oatmeal. For myself I only use brown sugar. The Huzz doubles this recipe and prefers to use water instead of almond milk. This is SO much cheaper than buying the pre-flavored packets at the store. And it’s just as quick to make! I use the Target brand because it’s cheaper and SG is fine eating it. Note: The basic recipe of how to microwave this recipe is on the back on the container. The recipe I used comes from that but the add on ideas are mine. I do omit the salt.

Cream of Wheat: Yummy, creamy, hot and sweet! My sweet Mom makes this with evaporated milk and it’s DELISH! However, canned food and anything dairy is outlawed in our house. I follow the basic directions on the back of the box, but use almond milk (not water!), omit the salt, and add sugar. I use a little more than 1/4 c sugar for the 4 servings recipe. I add the sugar when I add the milk and when it boils, whisk in the cream of wheat. The key is to whisk and stir the entire two and a half minutes once the cream of wheat is added. I hate lumps in my cream of wheat. I know the sugar isn’t that healthy, but it’s soooo good!

Pancakes: I’ve tried several different homemade pancake mixes. Some were good, some were blah. Then I found this recipe from Once a Month Mom. We LOVE it! The best part is, the recipe makes a giant batch of dry mix, which means I just have to add the wet ingredients when I want to make pancakes. So convenient! Click to here to see the recipe from Once a Month Mom. I adapted the recipe to make it dairy and egg free. Here are the changes I made:

  • Use non-dairy milk instead of cow’s milk
  • Use safe margarine or vegan buttery sticks instead of butter
  • Use one cup of pre-packaged natural applesauce for the egg

image These pancakes taste “normal” to us. You can always mix in a few safe chocolate chips or frozen blueberries to spice it up a bit. These freeze beautifully. We always have leftover pancakes, which is awesome for those mornings when I’m exhausted and need an easy breakfast for SG.

I also shared links to two great vegan recipes in my “Vacationing with Food Allergies” post. Click here to read it and find the links to blueberry muffins and banana bread. They are delicious and also freeze well.

Mealtimes with special diets can be challenging, but over time, it does get easier. Do you have any yummy dairy free and egg free breakfast ideas to share? Please do!

10 thoughts on “Basic Dairy Free and Egg Free Breakfast Ideas

  1. Have you tried Food Allergy Mama’s pancake recipe? It’s great and dairy, egg, and nut free! But, if you like your recipe, stick with it. We also like quinoa for breakfast (add flavors just like oatmeal), mush (my son calls them yellow pancakes), and Thomas Bagel thins. We also do a sausage and southern hash brown mix that’s super tasty!

    • I have not tried it or heard of it. We do love this current recipe. Maybe I’ll branch out and try that one. πŸ™‚ SG eats those Thomas bagels, too. I’m always thrilled to find new safe foods!! Thanks for the new ideas.

  2. Happy to have found your blog as a fellow food allergy mom! For easy breakfasts we also do frozen waffles (gluten free for my son) and he dips them in coconut or soy yogurt. Sometimes I also give him homemade muffins or my favorite pumpkin granola bars. SO tasty.

  3. I’m glad you found me so I in turn could find you! I can definitely relate to the infertility and food allergies. I can’t eat dairy or wheat gluten so I know all about getting creative! I’ve never been a big breakfast person, so my go-to food is smoothies. A little ice, frozen bananas, peanut or almond butter, chocolate almond milk, and hemp protein powder is my perfect breakfast. πŸ™‚ I look forward to following your blog!

    • SG loves chocolate almond milk! Your smoothie recipe sounds yummy! My super lazy breakfast for her is a “smoothie”… A Silk yogurt mixed with OJ. πŸ™‚ But yours sound so much healthier!!!

      I’m glad to have found you!

  4. Pingback: Vacationing with Food Allergies: 5 Practical Tips to a Relaxing Trip | Blessed Little Family

  5. Pingback: Most Read Posts in 2014 | Blessed Little Family

  6. Pingback: 6 Easy Homemade Mixes for the Pantry: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

  7. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter, Almond & Raisin Granola Bars: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

