Dairy Free & Egg Free Twice Baked Potatoes

image

I recently bought a five pound bag of russet potatoes from the grocery store for 99 cents! Y’all know I like to make my dollar hollah! 🙂 I couldn’t resist buying these. The Huzz smiled when I showed him my good deal, knowing what the outcome would be. I’d use one potato and forget about them, eventually throwing the entire bag away. I was DETERMINED that this time I’d use every single potato in that bag. And I’m proud to say that I did.

Here’s one of the ways I used those potatoes- twice baked potatoes! I used several different recipes I found on the web as a guide, but in the end, I adapted and it turned into my own creation!

Twice Baked Potatoes:
Ingredients:
3 russet potatoes
2 Tbs safe margarine
3 Tbs “sour cream” (click here to see how to make sour cream using coconut greek yogurt)
3 Tbs plain coconut coffee creamer (for both of these I use the So Delicious brand)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp salt

image

1. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil. Rinse, dry, and prick your potatoes with a fork. Bake for 1 hour. I didn’t let my potatoes cool too long because we were hungry. If you plan better than me, let them cool some before handling.
2. Cut the potatoes in halves. Use a spoon to scoop out most of the insides, but leave enough of a “wall” of potato so that it doesn’t collapse on itself. Put all of the scooped insides in a bowl.
3. Add the margarine, “sour cream”, coffee creamer, salt, pepper, and garlic. Mix well. Taste and see if anymore seasoning is needed. (Or make your spouse taste it first. The Huzz always taste tests first because I’m always scared to. HA! True story.)
4. Place the empty potato halves on a foil lined baking sheet. Fill with the seasoned potato mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. I did 15 minutes and my potatoes were perfect.

I ended up with 6 potato halves and we gobbled them all up except for one. I froze that half and will pull it out one of these days and see if it stood up to freezing. Because y’all know how much I love my freezer!

Happy potato baking y’all!

(I don’t know why I used y’all so much today. I must be missing my sweet home state of South Carolina.)

Leave a Reply

