The Freezer is my Best Friend Part 3: My Favorite Way to Cook Chicken

image

I hope I’ve made it clear how much I love my freezer. I’ve recently been on a chicken drumsticks kick. I keep finding them at different stores for GREAT prices.  I’ve been making our favorite 20 to 40 clove garlic chicken recipe one night and the second night either making Ally’s stir fry or my chicken and rice soup. The Huzz recently remarked how much more flavorful this chicken meat is compared to when I simmer chicken breasts and cube them for future freezer meals.

Yesterday I found two more good deals on drumsticks. (Not as good as this deal, but 99 cents a pound is not bad.) I made a big batch of drumsticks and tonight I portioned it all out.

Here’s the link to my favorite drumsticks recipe.

http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2009/04/crockpot-20-to-40-clove-garlic-chicken.html

Here’s how much chicken I ended up with for $5.35. And here’s how yummy it looks!

image

I let it cool overnight. The next day I chopped it up (The Huzz does not like shredded chicken but you could also shred it. I just chopped it.)

image

Then I portioned it into 1 cup servings. I bagged each one individually and then put them all in a gallon ziploc freezer bag for extra protection. I don’t want my hard work to get ruined with freezer burn!!

I ended up with 6.5 cups of portioned and chopped chicken. That’s 82 cents per meal for the chicken! Hollah!!!

Be on the lookout for a future post about what to do with all of this yummy deliciousness!!

6 thoughts on “The Freezer is my Best Friend Part 3: My Favorite Way to Cook Chicken

  1. Pingback: “Cheesy” Taco Stuffed Crescent Rolls: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

  2. Pingback: 16 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners (July 16- July 31, 2014) | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: Meat & “Cheesy Ranch” Rollup | Blessed Little Family

  4. Pingback: The Closest We Get To Take Out: “Flex” Meals | Blessed Little Family

  5. Pingback: Dairy & Egg Free Chicken Salad- Oh My! | Blessed Little Family

  6. Pingback: Homemade BBQ Chicken Pizza: Dairy and Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

