“Cheesy” Taco Stuffed Crescent Rolls: Dairy & Egg Free

image

I love Pinterest. I was inspired by this chimichanga pin, which only had some ingredients listed. When I clicked on the link, it only showed a photo. (I wasn’t sure which flour tortillas were safe for us, so I decided to improvise and use crescent rolls instead. The pin didn’t include any measurements, either.) But it sounded so delicious so I experimented and figured out what works for us. That plus the dairy substitutes equals one of my new favorite easy lunch or dinner recipes! (If you are not dairy free then use regular cream cheese and cheddar cheese!)

I have made this three times in about two weeks. I have used chopped frozen chicken (click here to read how I cook and freeze chicken) and frozen pre-cooked ground chuck (click here to read how I prepare the ground chuck.) The recipe is equally delicious with chicken or beef!

“Cheesy” Taco Stuffed Crescent Rolls

Ingredients:

  • 1 roll of Pillsbury crescent rolls (easiest option), crescent rounds, or the crescent seamless dough
  • 1 container of Daiya plain cream cheese style spread
  • 1/2 cup of Daiya cheddar style shreds
  • 1 cup of pre-cooked chicken or pre-cooked ground beef
  • 1 teaspoon of homemade taco seasoning (click here to see the recipe I use from 100 Days of Real Food)

Directions:
1. Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a medium sized bowl, scoop about 1/3 of the Daiya cream cheese style spread, three small handfuls of the Daiya cheddar style shreds or about 1/2 cup, 1 teaspoon of taco seasoning, and your frozen meat. Mix well. You may have to put this in the microwave for 10-15 seconds if you cannot easily mix this.

image

3. Line a cookie sheet with foil. Spread out crescent dough. Put two spoonfuls of taco meat mixture in each crescent roll. If you have remaining taco mixture after you’ve done all eight cresent rolls, go back and add more to each crescent roll. Close the crescent rolls.

image

image

image

image

image

image

4. Bake for approximately 13 minutes. Enjoy the “cheesy” yumminess!

5 thoughts on ““Cheesy” Taco Stuffed Crescent Rolls: Dairy & Egg Free

  1. These do sound yummy! Wildtree taco seasoning would be a great easy option for this. So delish! I would use corn tortillas myself for a gluten free option. Kinnkinnick pizza crust might be good too. I notice you use Pillsbury Cresent Rolls for lots of things. With artificial colors and other questionable ingredients, it might an ingredient to consider swapping out too. http://www.foodfacts.com/NutritionFacts/Croissants/Pillsbury-Original-Crescent-Rolls-8-oz/28356

    • Thanks for commenting Janet. Any kind of shell should work for this as long as it can go in the oven. Yes, we use crescent rolls and I’m aware of the ingredients. I do wish & hope Pillsbury will take the fake stuff out, however, then it might not be safe for us. (The Huzz and I just had this discussion last night!) Our options are very limited and short of making them myself, (trust me I’ve searched and all I found used tons of eggs- if you find a dairy and egg free one please share!) I’ve decided we we will use them. Thanks for your concern!

  2. Pingback: 15 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners: Part 2 | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: 15 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners: Part 4 | Blessed Little Family

  4. Pingback: 11 Quick and Easy Ideas for Leftover Chicken | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

