Allergy Friendly Movie Night Snacks

image

SG is old enough to appreciate movies and eagerly half question and half exclaim every night, “Maybe we can have family movie night tonight?!?!”

We don’t have family movie night every night. No one wants to watch Frozen every night- except SG and countless other kids out there. šŸ™‚ But when we do, here’s some yummy treats we cannot get enough of! Popcorn, chocolate, and raisins. Sounds simple enough. But my popcorn is different. We like to call it “Dragon’s Breath Popcorn.” I’ll tell you how to make that in a bit.

First, here’s the super easy snack. Almost chocolate covered raisins. Before food allergies, my favorite movie treat was chocolate covered raisins. Even though I don’t have a dairy allergy, I eat dairy free along with my child. So I don’t eat those delicious little store bought chocolate covered raisins anymore.

Here’s how I now enjoy chocolate and raisins. Simply put some raisins in a bowl and some Enjoy Life chocolate chunks (or chocolate chips). Pop a few raisins in your mouth along with a chocolate chunk. It truly tastes like eating chocolate covered raisins! It’s almost too easy and really requires no effort other than dumping two ingredients in a bowl and chowing down. I wish I could take credit for this idea, but I believe a mom from one of my milk allergy mom facebook groups mentioned this. It’s yummy and amazing!

image

Now onto “Dragon’s Breath Popcorn.” I was watching the food network during naptime around Super Bowl time. A lady was demonstrating how she makes homemade popcorn and seasons it with a homemade “Cheesy Ranch” seasoning mix. I, of course, googled it and found her recipe. We can’t use the parmesan cheese. I sub nutritional yeast. And it’s good. The only down side is you have dragon’s breath after eating it. Which is totally okay as long as your Huzz and three year old eat it, too. Then we all have dragon’s breath and don’t care.

Here’s how I make it.

Dragon’s Breath Popcorn:
(Adapted from the Food Network recipe from Katie Lee. Weird side note- I couldn’t find her exact link and I even linked to it here in this previous post. She did have her own link and now it’s gone. End side note.) šŸ™‚

Ingredients:

  • Corn Kernels
  • Olive Oil

For the popcorn seasoning:

  • 1/2 Tbs Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 Tbs Dried Chives
  • 1.5 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Dried Parsley
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Pepper

Directions:

  1. Make popcorn. I bought this contraption and it’s how I make our popcorn in the microwave. Maybe you like to make your popcorn in a brown paper bag in the microwave, or on the stove or even have a Whirli-Pop. (Shout out to Kari!!!) šŸ™‚ I use the manufacturer’s instructions for my popcorn.
  2. Mix seasonings together in a bowl. Once the popcorn is cooked and hot, mix in some seasoning mix, stir the popcorn and add more seasoning. Stir again. If the seasoning mix isn’t sticking add a light drizzle of olive oil to the popcorn and that should help the seasonings stick. I make our popcorn with olive oil so the seasonings stick easily. I use about half of the seasoning mix per batch of popcorn. The seasoning usually lasts for two batches of popcorn. (I use 1/3 cup of popcorn kernels per batch.)
  3. Cover remaining seasoning mix and save for next time.

image

Eat and enjoy your dragon’s breath. Mmmmm, it’s so worth it.

5 thoughts on “Allergy Friendly Movie Night Snacks

  1. Ellie and appreciate your posts!! I’ve used several recipes!! I’m gluten free so I have to adapt some but now I have to go dairy free….. it’s not easy dairy is in everything! Thanks for being such a blessing! Love ya!

  2. Pingback: My Must Have Kitchen Items | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: 20 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

  4. Pingback: 6 Easy Homemade Mixes for the Pantry: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

