Easy Pumpkin Bread: Dairy, Egg & Cinnamon Free

I thought pumpkin bread was never gonna happen for us. First of all, the recipe needed to be dairy and egg free for SG. And for me…cinnamon free and can free.

No canned pumpkin?!?! We know how to bake and purée the pie pumpkins, but honestly it was a major pain. Neither the Huzz or I wanted to fool with that anymore.

Last December, I found what I thought I’d never ever find… safe boxed pumpkin! I had found one other boxed brand but it was processed on shared lines with dairy products. But this one, this Farmer’s Market Organic Pumpkin, was and is totally SAFE for us!

But then, the hunt was on for a cinnamon free pumpkin bread recipe (for me.)

So the recipe had to be basically vegan, without cinnamon. It felt impossible.

But then, I found this recipe. (Click here to read the original recipe.)

This recipe has rocked our world, y’all! I’m serious.

I made it several times last December and throughout the cold Iowa winter.

I let my last few boxes sit in my pantry and they had a use by date of September 2014. No specific date, so in mid-September, I mixed up three bowls and batches of the dry mix and then got ready to mix the wet ingredients. I discovered the pumpkin was already bad. Not only was I sad because I was craving pumpkin bread, but I had three bowls of dry pumpkin mix ready to go! I bagged them up in three separate bags and that was the end of that.

I can’t find the pumpkin locally, so I had to order it online. (Click here for the cheapest place I can find them online.)

Anyway, the long awaited boxed pumpkin finally arrived. I mixed together the wet ingredients (just 4 ingredients!) and dumped in my ready mixed dry mix. And yall, I had the pumpkin bread in the oven from start to finish in about 5 minutes!!! 5 minutes???? (give or take!)

Pumpkin Bread Made Easy!

Pumpkin Bread Made Easy!

So, friends, that’s my big twist on the recipe. I’ve decided I will premix the dry ingredients and keep them at the ready in my pantry. I kept the mixes in plastic baggies. I also discovered my giant olive jars are the perfect size for one recipe of dry mix.

Easy Pumpkin Bread

I’ve had two play dates lately and because of this tip, I’ve been able to have homemade pumpkin bread for my guests without making a mess of the kitchen!

I think these would make darling gifts this Thanksgiving and Christmas. You can re-use a glass jar or buy a cute one. Attach directions and you’re good to go.

Here’s the recipe for pumpkin bread.

Dairy, Egg & Cinnamon Free Pumpkin Bread
(modified very slightly from this original recipe)

Ingredients:

Dry:

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp ground clove

Wet:

  • 1 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 Tbsp water

Easy Way to Make Pumpkin Bread:

  1. Line up several bowls. You need a bowl for each dry recipe you want to pre-mix. Mix all of the dry ingredients together per recipe per bowl.  Put each recipe in its own bag or glass jar.
  2. When ready to make pumpkin bread, first preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Mix all of the wet ingredients together in a large bowl. Dump in the pre-mixed dry mix from step 1. Mix well.
  4. I make mini loaves and medium sized pumpkin loaves. The mini loaves bake for 25-30 minutes. The medium loaves bake for about 30-40 minutes. According to the original recipe, a regular sized loaf pan bakes for about 50 minutes.

How to bake the “normal” way:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a bowl, add all of the dry ingredients and mix well.
  3. In another bowl, add all of the wet ingredients and mix well.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well.
  5. Follow step 4 in the section above.

Make sure to cool the pumpkin bread on a cookie rack.

These also freeze well. I’ve frozen them and they taste great after defrosting.

I have to say, the no cinnamon isn’t even an issue with this recipe. The bread tastes perfectly spiced thanks to the nutmeg, allspice & ground clove.

We like to spread some Earth Balance vegan butter on the pumpkin bread.

Mmm, mmm, mmm!

I hope you enjoy this as much as we do.

These are the medium sized loaves.

These are the medium sized loaves.

Mini loaves.  The recipe makes 8 mini loaves.

Mini loaves. The recipe makes 8 mini loaves.

6 thoughts on “Easy Pumpkin Bread: Dairy, Egg & Cinnamon Free

  1. Tis the season!!! Great idea for storing the ingredients to be ready and just waiting to be baked. I too reuse my olive jars 😉 (all of my jars really! We consume lots of local honey so we have many of those large jars to reuse).
    BTW because of your uncrustables post I have been inspired to learn the art of baking bread. I have thoroughly enjoyed learning to bake bread “sans the bread machine” because I don’t own one YET. A loaf just came out and it’s half gone. At some point I hope to get one but for now just enjoying being hands on as much as possible (I use the dough hook on my kitchenaid-so it’s not totally by hand).
    Thanks for your yummy post!!!

      • I think I bought them from Target. If not Target, then it had to be from our local grocery store HyVee. I bought them over a year ago and I can’t remember where. I am down to my last two liners so I need more. I’ll let you know the answer soon because I must buy more.

        I love homemade bread. It’s so addicting!!! A bread maker would make a great Christmas present… 😉

Leave a Reply

