Thanksgiving Recipes: Dairy & Egg Free

Holidays are steeped in tradition. Food allergies change things. But what doesn’t have to change is still having a yummy, delicious, and safe spread for Thanksgiving or Christmas.

Maybe it’s the first time cooking the holiday meal for everyone.

Maybe you’re the sweet family member or friend who is searching for safe recipes for a food allergic loved one. (Thanks for that, by the way. It means more than you know.)

Maybe the idea of a dairy and egg free holiday feast terrifies you.

Whatever the hesitation or reason, fear not. I’m going to share links to yummy recipes.

Last year we had a completely “safe” Thanksgiving and Christmas feast! None of the food tasted weird- just good.

Without further ado, here are some of the dishes I made last year. I’m also going to throw in a few recipes I haven’t yet tried, but will try for either Thanksgiving or Christmas.

A star in front of the name means I haven’t tried the recipe yet but I’m going to soon. No star means I made it, liked it and will make it again this holiday season.

Herb Roasted Turkey

Twice Baked Potatoes

*Mashed Potatoes

Sweet Potato Mallow Melt

My Mama’s Southern Puerto Rican Green Beans
(Simmer green beans for approximately 30 minutes along with fatback (or bacon) and lemon juice to taste. Salt and pepper to taste.)

Nana’s Safe Stuffing
(I never knew this recipe is originally from Better Homes and Gardens. You can look it up if you have that cookbook. Use vegan butter and safe bread. We omit the celery and carrot and only use the onion. We used homemade bread the last time we made it. Delish! And Nana uses poultry seasoning, not the suggested sage.)

Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

Pumpkin Bread
(This makes a delicious breakfast. We slather our pumpkin bread with Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread.)

Pumpkin Pie
(I made this one last year. Last year I omitted the cinnamon and subbed allspice.)

*Pumpkin Pie 2
(I’m trying this recipe this weekend before the big day. I always use the Refrigerated Pillsbury Roll Out Crusts. That’s not the official name but that’s what I call it.)

Cherry Pie

Cherry Pie & Apple Pie

Cherry Pie & Apple Pie

Apple Pie

Chocolate Chip Cookies
(Can dip half of the cookie in melted chocolate. Melt some Enjoy Life chocolate chips along with some shortening or coconut oil in the microwave. Mix well. Dip cookie. Repeat. Let cool on parchment paper.)

Chocolate Dipped Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla Cupcakes
(These are great for making ahead and freezing. Mine are in the freezer baked already. I’m planning on frosting them with Pillsbury Maple Brown Sugar frosting and putting cute little pumpkin picks in the cupcakes to make them festive.)

If you like to bake in advance, the following freeze well:
Pumpkin Bread
Chocolate Chip Cookies
Vanilla Cupcakes (unfrosted)

The apple and pumpkin pie can be made the day before Thanksgiving. The cherry pie tastes better (to me) the day it’s baked, so that pie I bake the day of.

I hope these recipes help you have a safe and delicious Thanksgiving.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Recipes: Dairy & Egg Free

  1. My husband made “Pumpkin Pie 2” last year for Thanksgiving, and we all really liked it. Looks like you have everything planned out. I need to hurry up and get ready! Not many days left to prepare. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    • I’m glad to hear “Pumpkin Pie 2” was a hit. I tried a new pumpkin pie recipe last week and we ended up throwing it away. 🙂 I’m looking to forward to trying this recipe.

      Happy Thanksgiving and thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

