Picadillo Tater Tot Casserole

Picadillo tater tot casserole. Now that’s a mouthful. Say Peek-ah-dee-yo. Again. Got it?

My old picadillo recipe used ground beef. Because of the newer beef allergy, I now use ground turkey breast. I was a little worried when I made picadillo with turkey instead of beef. It worked perfectly! Truly, the taste is in the sofrito and olives. It tastes divine!

The day I menu planned this, I had a more traditional casserole in mind. But then I thought, why not? Why not give casseroles my latina flair?

So that’s how this little baby was born.

Picadillo Tater Tot Casserole:

First, click here for the recipe to make picadillo. Make picadillo. Put it in a 9×9 baking dish and top with an even layer of tater tots. Bake in a preheated 450 degree oven for approximately 20 minutes.

Tips:
I try to keep ground meat portioned and precooked (by me) in my freezer at all times.
I also make a batch of sofrito and freeze it in ice cube trays.
Having both of these frozen and ready to go make this recipe and many others super easy to pull together at dinner time.

The picadillo in the 9x9 pan

The picadillo in the 9×9 pan

Top with an even layer of tater tots

Top with an even layer of tater tots

Serve with a veggie on the side

Serve with a veggie on the side

3 thoughts on “Picadillo Tater Tot Casserole

  1. Pingback: 20 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

  2. Pingback: 14 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: 16 Affordable Dinner Ideas | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

