Arroz con Pollo (Chicken & Rice)

Arroz con pollo. Puerto Rican comfort food at its finest! I absolutely love digging into a bowl of this homemade goodness. I promise you will, too!

Before attempting this, I highly recommend purchasing a “caldero”. It’s what we use to make our Puerto Rican rice dishes. Click here to see the one I have.  It kind of felt like a rite of passage when my parents gave me my caldero.  I felt like an official grown up!

I also recommend making a homemade batch of sofrito (link below).  If you don’t want to make it homemade, Goya makes a jarred sofrito and jarred recaito.  I do not know if they are dairy and egg free, though, because I always make my own.  Either jarred version works in this recipe.  However, homemade sofrito is easy and always better!

Arroz con Pollo

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 raw chicken breasts cut into bite sized pieces
  • oregano
  • salt
  • pepper
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder
  • Adobo seasoning (I use the one with the red cap)
  • lemon juice
  • olive oil
  • 3 c uncooked white rice, rinsed
  • 2.5 c chicken broth
  • 6 oz tomato sauce
  • 3 cubes sofrito (click here for the sofrito recipe)
  • Lots of green olives
  • 2 Tbsp olive juice

Directions:

  1. Season chicken in a bowl with adobo, oregano, salt, pepper, garlic powder & onion powder. Add a drizzle of olive oil & a splash of lemon juice. Mix well.
  2. Heat the caldero to medium heat with a thin layer of olive oil. Add the seasoned chicken. Cook for maybe 1-2 minutes, stirring once or twice.
  3. Add the 3 cups of rinsed rice, chicken broth, sofrito cubes, olives, tomato sauce, olive juice and add a good sprinkle of garlic powder.  Stir.
  4. Bring to a boil. Stir. Cover. Reduce heat to medium low. Cook for 20 minutes. Use a pronged fork to stir the rice. If the rice is still hard, sprinkle a little water over it if needed and cook another 5 minutes.
  5. Serve with Black Beans (recipe coming soon)

NOTE: Do not use a spatula or spoon to stir the rice. It can make the rice mushy.

Arroz con Pollo topped with Puerto Rican style black beans

Arroz con Pollo Topped with Puerto Rican Style Black Beans

If it isn’t perfect the first time, keep trying and tweaking this recipe.  My mom actually doesn’t have a  written recipe.  It’s another taste and see recipe.  I have worked with her to get a basic written recipe (thanks Mom!) and I have tweaked it to work for us from there.

I hope you enjoy the sabor (flavor) of this Latin dish.

3 thoughts on “Arroz con Pollo (Chicken & Rice)

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

  2. Pingback: Puerto Rican Black Beans | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: 16 Affordable Dinner Ideas | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

