6 Easy Homemade Mixes for the Pantry: Dairy & Egg Free

There’s news of another recall involving spice mixes. Scary, isn’t it?

I try to make as much as I can from scratch. That includes spice mixes, premade pancake and muffin mixes, ranch dry mix and more.

Here are a few of the homemade mixes I have in my pantry.

1. Homemade Taco Mix
(from 100 Days of Real Food)
It’s easy to throw together with just 4 ingredients! I even made some as gifts this Christmas. This mix is very versatile and can help with other meals other than just tacos! (I feel a taco mix recipe post brewing…) 🙂

2. Dry Ranch Mix
(from Once A Month Meals)
I washed a jelly jar and use that to store this yummy dry mix. It has been very helpful for me to have the directions on a label on the back of the jar with the directions on how to make the dressing. This is another very versatile mix and it can jazz up many recipes. (Hmmm… a what to do with dry ranch mix post is also a-brewing…) 🙂

Click here to go to my “Recipe Substitutions” page for the links to the homemade taco mix and dry ranch mix recipes.

3. Homemade Popcorn Spice Mix
I keep recipes of my Dragon’s Breath popcorn seasoning in a little Glad plastic bowl. It makes movie night a snap. I just make the popcorn from scratch in the microwave with some olive oil. I sprinkle on the seasoning mix and voila! Easy and quick homemade popcorn.

4. Pancake Mix
(from Once A Month Meals)

5. Muffin Mix
Once this is mixed, it only needs two wet ingredients to make a batch of muffins! It’s just AS EASY TO PREPARE AS THE PACKAGED MUFFIN MIXES FROM THE STORE! 🙂 I love this recipe because it has ground flax. I also omit the vanilla because I use vanilla almond milk. In my latest batch, I cut the sugar back to 1.5 cups for the entire dry mix and the muffins still tasted great. I also use frozen blueberries as my add in. We use Enjoy Life mini chocolate chips for special occasions.

6. Wacky Cake Mix
I currently have a bag of all the dry ingredients for a chocolate wacky cake mix bagged and ready to go. In the link above, I’ve included how to also make this a vanilla cake. It’s more yellow in color than a white cake. Who needs boxed cake mix when you have this homemade goodness waiting and ready?

It helps to slowly stock your pantry with homemade mixes. Mix a batch a day of something from this list and in less than a week you’ll have some homemade yumminess ready to go at your fingertips. If you’re really motivated, take an hour and prepare these homemade mixes all at once. None of it is hard- it just takes a little time. The spice mixes are super easy to throw together. I’d suggest starting with the taco seasoning. Then the dry ranch mix and then the popcorn seasoning. The others require more time- maybe a max of 10 minutes each! That’s not bad at all.

Safe Dry Ranch Mix and Homemade Ranch Dressing

Safe Dry Ranch Mix and Homemade Ranch Dressing

These directions on the jar make whipping up this dressing a breeze.

These directions on the jar make whipping up this dressing a breeze.

Popcorn Seasoning, Homemade Taco Seasoning & Homemade Ranch Mix

Popcorn Seasoning, Homemade Taco Seasoning & Homemade Ranch Mix

Pancake Mix

Pancake Mix

Vegan Muffin Mix

Vegan Muffin Mix

On a side note, I’m trying to make these mixes look cuter. I’m in the process of buying glass jars and trying to figure out how to print cute labels.

Do you have any homemade mixes to share? Please share and link in the comments below. Thanks!

One thought on “6 Easy Homemade Mixes for the Pantry: Dairy & Egg Free

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter, Almond & Raisin Granola Bars: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

