Puerto Rican Black Beans

Arroz con Pollo topped with Puerto Rican style black beans

Arroz con Pollo topped with Puerto Rican style Black Beans

I love having a little taste of my Puerto Rican roots here in Iowa.  I had to learn how to cook like my mom since we live so far away from my parents.

This is my can free and dairy free version of my mom’s Puerto Rican Black Beans recipe.  You can easily sub red beans for the black beans.  I soak and cook my own black beans because of my nickel allergy (no canned foods.)  I also omit the ever so popular “Jamon” seasoning from Goya because it contains milk… what???  I found a way to make this recipe work for us.

This is yummy served over plain white rice or with arroz con pollo.

We are huge Dave Ramsey fans.  He talks about eating beans and rice, rice and beans.  This recipe definitely elevates the beans!  Give it a try.  It’s budget friendly, especially if you soak and cook your own beans. And y’all food allergy parents know we need to save money where we can, because living dairy, egg, & beef free “ain’t cheap!”  🙂

Puerto Rican Black Beans 

Ingredients:

  • 1 to 1.5 cups of cooked & drained black beans OR 1 can of drained black beans
  • 2 russet potatoes, peeled & chopped
  • 2 cubes of sofrito
  • Tomato sauce
  • Green olives
  • 2 tsp olive juice
  • Adobo (seasoning found in the Spanish foods aisle)

Directions:

  1. Boil the potatoes until tender in a medium sized pot. Pour out quite a bit of water and reserve for use later.
  2. Add black beans and tomato sauce. There is not a measurement for the tomato sauce. I would guess I pour in 3-4 ounces of tomato sauce. Eyeball it. If there is not enough liquid, add a bit more tomato sauce and reserved water. The beans and potatoes need to be just covered in liquid.
  3. Add the sofrito, green olives, and olive juice. Add a sprinkle of Adodo seasoning.
  4. Let simmer until the water and tomato sauce thicken. Stir as needed. Add reserved water if the bean sauce gets too thick. Add a little more tomato sauce and smash a potato or two if the bean sauce is too thin. This recipe is a taste and see and adjust kind of recipe.
  5. Serve beans over white rice.
4 thoughts on “Puerto Rican Black Beans

  1. I prefer dried beans of any kind over the canned version. My baby girl and I are bean eaters. Most times I dont even soak them over night. I do the quick soak method and then cook them low and slow. I hear in a pressure cooker you can have bean ready in under 20 minute. A pressure cooker is high on my radar these days-even more than a bread machine.
    Happy bean eating!!!

    • I always do the quick soak method because I go to get frozen beans from the freezer and realize I’m out. Ha! So, the quick soak works for me! After the quick soak, I usually simmer them in a pot for 2 hours. I do have a pressure cooker, but have this weird fear of it… Yeah, I’ll tell ya about that one day.

  2. Pingback: 28 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: 16 Affordable Dinner Ideas | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

