Homemade Peanut Butter Cookies Topped with Homemade Dairy Free Chocolate Hearts

Now that title is a mouthful!

I couldn’t think of a cute name and I didn’t want to copy the original recipe’s name. I want y’all to know these babies are topped with homemade chocolate candy hearts. Whoop, whoop!!!

I’m seriously like a giddy little schoolgirl, y’all. For real.

I made these just in time for Valentine’s Day, although I’m not sure they’ll last 48 hours… The Huzz is nick named the Cookie Monster for a reason.

I found Sally’s recipe on Pinterest. I had just the day before purchased a silicone heart mold from HyVee for just a $1. I thought I’d just make some chocolate candies for us for Valentine’s Day.

Then I saw her pin and got pumped up.

I can make pretty food, too. It just takes more effort. And some experimenting. And I’m proud to say I adapted it just right the first time around. Yay!

Here’s how I made these awesome cookies. I used peanut butter because we don’t have peanut allergies. I’m guessing Wow Butter or SunButter would work well, too. I personally like the way Wow Butter tastes better than SunButter. But I digress.

Peanut Butter Cookies topped with Homemade Dairy Free Chocolate Hearts
(adapted from this recipe here)

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick of Earth Balance Vegan Butter
  • 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 prepackaged cup of Mott’s Natural Applesauce
  • 3/4 cup of creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 and 1/4 cups of all purpose flour
  • Homemade Chocolate Candy Hearts (Recipe to Follow)

Directions:

  • Slightly melt the vegan butter in the microwave. Make it just soft enough to be mixed well with the sugars.
  • Use a large bowl with a hand mixer or a mixer with a stand.
  • Add the sugars and vegan butter and mix well.
  • Add the applesauce and mix well.
  • Add the peanut butter and mix well.
  • Add the vanilla and mix well.
  • Add the baking soda & flour and mix until just well blended. Don’t overmix.
  • Put dough in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill.

Now it’s time to make the chocolate candy hearts.

Ingredients:

  • Safe Chocolate Chips
  • Safe Shortening
  • Candy Mold (I used a heart mold)

Directions:

Pretty much here’s what I did:

Just 2 Ingredients

Just 2 Ingredients

  • I didn’t measure. I just eyeballed the chocolate chips and added a dollop of shortening. I bet you could use coconut oil instead of the shortening if you wanted.
  • I melted my chips & shortening in the microwave for 20 seconds at a time, stirring in between times.
  • Stir until chocolate is completely melted and smooth.
  • Pour melted chocolate into heart candy mold. Put in freezer until the cookies are almost done cooking. Pop the chocolate hearts out when firm to the touch and keep in the freezer until they are needed. (I only had 1 mold so I had to repeat this step two times. I’m going to buy another candy mold so I don’t have to do this step twice!)
Melted Chocolate in the Heart Mold

Melted Chocolate in the Heart Mold

These are firm to the touch and ready for the cookies.

These are firm to the touch and ready for the cookies.

Back to the cookies!

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • By now, the cookie dough has chilled. It’s time to roll the dough into round balls and coat the balls in granulated sugar. I put some sugar on a plate. I’d roll about 10 cookies at a time and then roll them in the sugar and place them on a cookie sheet (use parchment paper on the cookie sheet.)
  • Bake cookies for 8-9 minutes- until the cookies just start to crack. The original recipe said that and at 8 minutes my cookies didn’t crack- I needed 9 minutes with my oven. 9 minutes were perfect!
  • When you pull the cookies out of the oven, immediately top the cookies with the chocolate hearts. I gently pushed them into the cookies.
  • Put the cookie sheet directly into the freezer so the homemade chocolates don’t completely melt.
  • Freeze the cookies for 15 minutes.
  • Enjoy your cookies and bask in your beautiful creation… I did!
Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Rolled in Sugar

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Rolled in Sugar

Cracked Peanut Butter Cookies- Just Right!

Cracked Peanut Butter Cookies- Just Right!

Frozen Chocolate Hearts Ready for the Cookies!

Frozen Chocolate Hearts Ready for the Cookies!

Isn't this beautiful?

Isn’t this beautiful?

I can't believe I made these little pretties!!!

I can’t believe I made these little pretties!!!

A Sea of Yumminess!

A Sea of Yumminess!

This also make great gifts for the special people in your life.

This also make great gifts for the special people in your life.

I used a box I picked up on clearance, a cute square muffin liner, a label & some Dollar Spot stickers to put our gift together.

I used a box I picked up on clearance, a cute square muffin liner, a label & some Dollar Spot stickers to put our gift together.

Homemade Peanut Butter Cookies Boxed Up and Ready to Share

Homemade Peanut Butter Cookies Boxed Up and Ready to Share

We are enjoying our special Valentine’s cookies.

Happy Valentine’s Day from our Blessed Little Family to yours!

Leave a Reply

