“Ranch Chicken” Pizza: Dairy & Egg Free

Yummy!

Yummy!

I have decided that Friday nights are now pizza nights. It’s fun to create traditions and oh yeah, it makes menu planning that much easier!!!

It also means that I have to get creative or we will eat the same pizza every week.

This week I tried my hand at creating a “ranch chicken” pizza.

The quotation marks are because:

The ranch is homemade and dairy and egg free

and

I’m not really using chicken. I’m using Hillary’s Veggie Bites for the chicken.

I found Hillary’s Veggie Bites a few months ago, called about the facilities (dairy & egg free!), bought them and let the veggie bites sit in the freezer for a few months. Why? Introducing new foods to SG is super stressful. She was fine with them. As a matter of fact- she LOVES them. However, she refuses to let me call them veggie bites. She calls them nuggets.

They have a great crunch to them (kind of like Ian’s chicken nuggets.) So the lightbulb went off in my head. No need to use real chicken. Just sub the crispy, crunchy veggie bites!

Here’s how I made our pizza.

Ranch Chicken Pizza:

Ingredients:

  • 1 pizza crust (I use this recipe. I cut the recipe in half, throw it in the bread maker and use the dough setting and make 4 thin crust pizzas from half the recipe. Also, you can have two thicker crust pizzas from half this recipe.)
  • 1 recipe of homemade ranch (Click here to see how I make homemade ranch)
  • 9-12 Hillary’s Veggie Bites
  • 2 chopped green onions
  • Daiya Mozzarella Shreds
  • Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

Directions:

  1. Prepare and pre-bake homemade pizza crust at 415 for 4-5 minutes.  (See link in ingredients)
  2. Bake Hillary’s Veggie Bites. (takes 20 minutes)
  3. Prepare safe homemade ranch dressing.  (See link in ingredients)
  4. Spoon ranch dressing on pre-baked pizza crust. Eyeball it.  I didn’t use all of my ranch dressing.
  5. Sprinkle the Daiya mozzarella shreds on the pizza. Use more or less Daiya according to your preference.
  6. Sprinkle the green onions on the pizza.
  7. Bake at 400 degrees for 6-7 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and everything is bubbly.
  8. Cut veggie bites to bite sized pieces. Add to pizza.
  9. Sprinkle Frank’s Red Hot Sauce for the grown ups (or brave kids.)
  10. Serve extra ranch on the side as a dip for the pizza or sprinkle more ranch on top of the pizza.
Ready to go in the oven

Ready to go in the oven

Bake until it looks like this.  It took about 7 minutes with my oven.

Bake until it looks like this. It took about 7 minutes with my oven.

Add the "Chicken"...HIllary's Veggie Bites!

Add the “Chicken”…Hillary’s Veggie Bites!

Add Frank's Red Hot Sauce if you dare...

Add Frank’s Red Hot Sauce if you dare…

Notes:

  • This makes 1 pizza.
  • I make a half recipe of the pizza crust and make 4 thin crust pizzas. We use two crusts per meal/pizza night. I freeze the other two crusts for the next week. This saves me time and work every other week.
  • You can sub real chicken, store bought ranch for the veggie bites, and real mozzarella cheese if your diet allows.

This was a winner in our house and is sure to make more appearances in our Friday night pizza rotation.

One thought on ““Ranch Chicken” Pizza: Dairy & Egg Free

Leave a Reply

