Peachy Oat Smoothie: Dairy Free

Smoothies.

I was on the hunt for the perfect breakfast smoothie. I searched Pinterest high and low looking for the perfect safe smoothie for our family.

Lots of smoothie recipes use bananas. Safe, but not what I wanted. Frozen strawberries- yum but SG will not drink smoothies with strawberries because of the seeds (let’s be honest- I don’t like seeds in smoothies, either.)

I saw a pin that used oats soaked overnight for a smoothie- until that moment I had never considered using oats in a smoothie.

Me, being the impatient person I am, decided there was no way I’d soak oats overnight. I need fast. Quick. Easy.

But the oats part stuck with me.

I decided to try making my own smoothie.

Peaches came into play because there are no seeds. And peaches and oatmeal are already served together in our house. It works for us!

Here’s what I threw together:

Dry Quick Oats

A Silk Vanilla Soy Yogurt

Drizzle of Honey

Splash of OJ

Frozen Peaches

I blended it all until it was smooth.

And y’all… It was good!

Not only that, but for the first time in a long time, I was full all morning. I felt really good!

And it’s 4 year old approved!

Here’s how to make a delicious and filling dairy and egg free smoothie:

Peachy Oat Smoothie

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. In a blender, add the quick oats, 1 container of safe yogurt, 4-5 frozen peaches, generous splash of OJ, and a drizzle of honey.
  2. Blend until smooth. Add more OJ if needed.

Notes:
Serves 1.
I always double this recipe for me & SG.

Feel free to sub another frozen fruit. I tried it with frozen strawberries once when we ran out of frozen peaches. SG refused to drink it because of the seeds. HA! But it tasted good to me!

I hope you enjoy this smoothie!

P.S.  Click here for my super simple 2 ingredient “Lazy Day Smoothie“.  It’s great when I don’t have any time to make breakfast.

5 Simple Ingredients

5 Simple Ingredients

I use these organic frozen peaches now.  Yum!

I use these organic frozen peaches now. Yum!

One serving ready to blend.

One serving ready to blend.

One time, I tried sneaking in some shredded carrot.  I was busted and SG did not like the smoothie.  It tasted the same!  If you can get away with it, this is a great way to add more nutrition to the smoothie.

One time, I tried sneaking in some shredded carrot. I was busted when SG saw the carrots and she did not like the smoothie. It tasted the same! If you can get away with it, this is a great way to add more nutrition to the smoothie.

Mommy & SG's Smoothies (single recipe- I normally double it for both of us)

Mommy & SG’s Smoothies (single recipe- I normally double it for both of us)

Leave a Reply

