Pizza Nachos

Pizza Nachos!

Pizza Nachos!

This is a quick and easy lunch or dinner. I have made this with black beans that I cooked and Randall beans from a jar (remember, no canned foods in this house.) The recipe turns out the same- YUMMY!

I’ll admit- the beans once pureed don’t look pretty. I’ll leave it at that. However, the taste is perfect and the recipe is easy, so that trumps the way black beans look pureed any day.

I don’t even remember how and why I created this. I just wanted more easy recipes for beans. Cooking dried beans and freezing them is very budget friendly. And I’m always trying to cut back that giant green eyed monster called our grocery budget.

Anyway, one day I randomly thought, why not throw some pizza sauce in with some beans, heat them up and pulverize them? That might make some tasty nachos.

And by golly, it did.

Here’s what we like to call “Pizza Nachos.”

Pizza Nachos:

Ingredients:

  • 1 recipe of homemade pizza sauce (I add a generous sprinkle of nutritional yeast to my pizza sauce now)
  • 1-2 cups of black beans (rinsed if from a can or jar, defrosted if cooked and frozen)
  • Tortilla Chips

Toppings:

  • Daiya Mozzarella Cheese Shreds
  • Sliced Green Olives
  • Chopped Tomatoes
  • Chopped Onions

Directions:

  1. In a medium pot add beans and 5-8 big spoonfuls of pizza sauce. If you use 1 cup of beans, use 5 spoonfuls. If you use a can or jar of beans, you need more pizza sauce. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat.
  2. I pour the hot beans into a measuring cup and use my immersion blender to puree the beans. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can use a blender or food processor. Be careful please. The beans are hot!
  3. On a plate, spread out your tortilla chips. Top with black bean mixture and Daiya cheese if using.
  4. Microwave for 30-45 seconds, or until the Daiya starts to melt.
  5. Add desired toppings.

(We like to add sliced green olives, tomatoes & chopped onions. The Huzz tops his nachos with salsa. I add extra pizza sauce on top of my nachos. SG prefers no sauce. Whatevs!)

The makings of a great meal.

The makings of a great meal.

Ready for Toppings

Ready for Toppings

Our favorite toppings for Pizza Nachos.

Our favorite toppings for Pizza Nachos.

Even SG cleans her plate when we have this for dinner.

Even SG cleans her plate when we have this for dinner.

I hope you enjoy these pizza nachos!

One thought on “Pizza Nachos

  1. Pingback: Vegan Pizza Quesadillas: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

Leave a Reply

