Vegan Pizza Quesadillas

Vegan Pizza Quesadillas

Mondays are our grocery shopping days. As a matter of fact, I’m sitting here delaying our grocery trip and writing this instead.

We started at 10:30 am and ran a few errands. Plenty of time to be back for lunch.  An impulsive *quick* stop at Hobby Lobby derailed our entire morning and we had to *run* home for lunch before our grocery shopping. Two hours later and we’re still here procrastinating.

Anyway, this recipe just came to be today. I wanted SG to have something different than her vegan grilled cheese and fruit for lunch today.

It’s grocery day, and my fridge is BARE. I found my last pack of frozen cooked black beans in the freezer and decided to make my pizza beans mixture. We always use that for pizza nachos. But I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to carefully put the pizza beans, cheese & olives on each tortilla chip. (Crazy, right? Or maybe I just made complete sense to you and made you smile?)

So I decided to throw it all in a soft shell tortilla and call it a quesadilla.

Here’s how I made Vegan Pizza Quesadillas.

Ingredients:

    • 1 recipe of homemade pizza sauce (I add a generous sprinkle of nutritional yeast to my pizza sauce now)
    • 1-2 cups of black beans (rinsed if from a can or jar, defrosted if cooked and frozen)
    • Soft Flour Tortillas
    • Daiya Mozzarella Cheese Shreds
    • Nutritional Yeast
    • Sliced Green Olives

Directions:

  1. In a medium pot add beans and 5-8 big spoonfuls of pizza sauce. If you use 1 cup of beans, use 5 spoonfuls. If you use a can or jar of beans, you need more pizza sauce. Bring to a boil. Remove from heat.
  2. I pour the hot beans into a measuring cup and use my immersion blender to puree the beans. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can use a blender or food processor. Be careful please. The beans are hot!
  3. Heat a skillet on medium.  Spread out a few tortillas and top half of the tortilla with the bean mixture, vegan cheese, nutritional yeast, and olives.  Fold the tortilla in half.
  4. Put the quesadilla on the hot skillet and heat until browned.  Flip and brown the other side.
  5. Slice and serve with extra homemade pizza sauce, if desired.

I didn’t have any green onions but I think they would also be great in these quesadillas.

Enjoy from my cocina (kitchen) to yours!

Load up half the tortilla only.

Load up half the tortilla only.

Close Up of the Yumminess!

Close Up of the Yumminess!

Pizza Quesadilla with Homemade Pizza Sauce for Dipping.

Pizza Quesadilla with Homemade Pizza Sauce for Dipping.

Leave a Reply

