Dairy Free Chocolate Delight

Safe Chocolate Delight

Nana (the Huzz’s mom) and Mimi (my mom) each make their own version of chocolate delight. Nana calls hers “Striped Delight” and Mimi calls hers “Chocolate Delight.”

I remember one day they sat together and jokingly argued over which version my Huzz liked better. Nana’s crust is made from graham crackers. My mom’s crust is flour and nut based. He likes both versions.

Fast forward several years later. A baby and severe food allergies made chocolate delight impossible. That is, until SO Delicious debuted Coco Whip, a coconut based “whipped cream” in a tub. It’s amazing.

I’ve already experimented and made chocolate pudding parfaits with it. I’ve also made an Oreo and pudding cream pie… but it fell apart. It was delicious, but still, needs some tweaking before it’s blog ready.

Anyhow, the Huzz requested chocolate delight for Father’s Day.

I was going to make it. However I was completely worn out by the afternoon and didn’t want to make it. The Huzz said he’d rather eat PB&J’s and have chocolate delight for dessert rather than me making dinner and skipping the chocolate delight.

Well, okay, then… it was that important to him. So that meant it was important to me!

Thank goodness Hy-Vee carries Daiya frozen pizzas. I ran to the store and that saved our dinner. I did not want to serve PB&J’s to my Huzz on Father’s Day.

And as for the chocolate delight, I had no idea if it would really turn out.

But ya know what?

IT DID!

I merged Nana and Mimi’s recipes together and created my own version. A safe version. Which means he likes mine best. Hmmph! Lol!

Here’s how I made chocolate delight.

Dairy Free Chocolate Delight

Ingredients:

For the Crust:

  • 1.5 cups of graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup melted vegan butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Directions:

  1. Make pudding with non dairy milk. I used vanilla almond milk. Let it chill for several hours in the fridge. When the pudding is chilled, you can move to step two.
  2. I bought safe graham crackers and ground them into fine crumbs with my mini food processor. Mix the 3 crust ingredients together and press into the bottom of a 13×9” pan.  I used a potato masher to really press the crust down.
  3. Use a mixer to beat the “cream cheese” and milk. I used SO Delicious Lite Culinary Coconut Milk. Add in 1/2 of the Coco Whip, the powdered sugar and a splash of vanilla. Spread this over the graham cracker crust.
  4. Pour pudding over cream cheese layer.
  5. Chill.
  6. Top with the remaining Coco Whip.

We hope you love this as much as we did!

Chocolate Delight Bite 2

2 thoughts on “Dairy Free Chocolate Delight

  1. Looks delicious!! My mom calls her recipe Three Layer Dessert and makes it either chocolate, butterscotch, or lemon. It is really so good! I can’t wait to try it with the So Delicious whip!!

Leave a Reply

