BBQ Bean Sammies & Dairy & Egg Free Coleslaw

Y’all!  The Local Vegan has an amazing recipe!  It has become one of our family favorites.  I’m not gonna write out Bailey Rae’s recipe but instead tell you the changes I made for our family.

BBQ Sammie

Back in Iowa we had safe store bought buns.  I miss those buns.

BBQ Sammie 2

On Toasted Homemade Bread

Here is the original recipe, which I follow almost to a T.  I don’t make the green beans and I omit the poppyseeds in the slaw.  I usually serve roasted carrots or OreIda french fries because SG loves them.  And hey, it’s safe.  What can I say?

I use Randall’s white northern beans, but feel free to use pinto beans as the original recipe does.  I make my own BBQ sauce because I have to.  Lately, all store bought BBQ sauce makes MY tongue tingle and as a food allergy mom I know that is not good.

Here is the homemade BBQ sauce recipe I make from Once a Month Meals.  I omit the Worcestershire sauce and add 1/2 teaspoon of liquid aminos (just like soy sauce) instead.

I have not found safe store bought bread in SC so I make my own.  We have used this homemade regular white bread (toast first in the toaster or else the bread gets soggy) and I’ve also served this on these amazing homemade dinner rolls.  My fave is on the dinner rolls, but more often we use the homemade white bread because it’s a lot easier to make.

Homemade Rolls

Homemade Dinner Rolls

Homemade Bread

Homemade Dairy & Egg Free Bread 

Let’s talk about the beans!  If I am making enough for one dinner I use a 24 oz jar (roughly 2 cans) of beans.  Today for the first time ever, I used a 48 oz jar of beans and I ended up with double. I did not even have to make double BBQ sauce because I use 1.5 cups of homemade sauce per recipe.  Woot woot!  One 8×8 dish of BBQ beans is in the freezer right now.  I cannot tell you how tickled pink I am about that.  I love my freezer meals!

Freezer BBQ Beans

I hope y’all enjoy this recipe.  We sure do.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

