Homemade Rapunzel Cupcakes: Dairy & Egg Free

rapunzel-cupcake-close-up

Hey friends!

We went to another birthday party today!!!

In case you didn’t know, that is BIG NEWS in our house. Our allergist has recommended that our daughter only go to safe parties until we get her contact reactions under control. So that means we usually cannot go to most parties, as we really don’t expect everyone to make it all safe for us. We usually go to 1-2 birthday parties a year.

We have had a busy year- we have gone to 4- count them-4!- parties outside of our house this year, y’all!

Today, our little cousin E celebrated her 4th birthday with a Rapunzel themed party. My cousin picked all safe party foods so SG could go. I made the cupcakes Rapunzel themed.

I am always up for a good baking challenge.

My go to cake is always our good ole wacky cake. I made a double batch of vanilla cupcakes. I bought 4 cans of purple Pillsbury frosting (read the labels please!), a bakery cardboard cupcake holder, fade proof cupcake liners, and downloaded the cutest Rapunzel printable PDF to top the cupcakes. Click here to see where I purchased them from and to see this lady’s other designs.

It took me less than 5 minutes to whip up each batch of cupcake mix (this is from scratch- no box mixes here!). So, 10 minutes to make enough batter for 48 cupcakes. See? You can do this, too! We got this, food allergy mamas and papas (and non food allergy friends, too!)

I always like to bake my cupcakes in advance and freeze them. That just takes the pressure off of me on the day of the party. Then I get to concentrate on icing them. You could easily do everything in one day.

So, here’s how I made these delicious- and, if you don’t mind me tooting my own horn, adorable Rapunzel cupcakes.

In advance, prepare the cupcake toppers. I chose to purchase, download, print, cut and tape toothpicks to the Rapunzel printable.

rapunzel-toothpicks

Make a double batch of wacky cake batter and bake as cupcakes. My cupcakes bake on convection at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. (The wacky cake recipe is at the very end of this post.)

Let cupcakes cool completely and then either freeze them or move onto the frosting step.

I use this frosting tool with the pronged tip to frost the cupcakes. I started as close to the edge of the cupcake as I could and just went round and round until I hit the middle. When I stopped frosting, the frosting went up in a line. I used the tip of the toothpick to push the frosting tip down as I inserted the toothpick into my frozen cupcakes.

I also kept the decorated cupcakes in the bakery box (I bought that from Party City) in the fridge until it was time to leave for the party.

rapunzel-cupcakes-in-bakery-box

This pic is kinda dark but I am so thrilled to have the cupcakes in this box to help them look like they came from a bakery!

Here’s my tip on the bakery box. It’s very flimsy. I’ve never used one before so I had no idea. I had a mini heart attack as I lifted my completely cupcake filled box and took two steps towards the fridge and the bottom of the box started to give way. Somehow I balanced it all- it was so wiggly. The Huzz happened to walk in right as the catastrophe was happening and he swooped in and saved the day! (And the cupcakes!) Next time, I will also purchase an extra cardboard cake thing- what do you call those? I used one for my Barbie cake. Anyway, I’ll Scotch tape the bottom of the box and also use a cardboard meant for cakes for added sturdiness. We ended up carrying the cupcake box under a cutting board. It worked. 🙂

So, that is how we made our safe Rapunzel themed cupcakes.

rapunzel-open-box

I added in two extra cupcakes to fill the box that didn’t have picks.  I didn’t want the cupcakes falling over during the drive to the party.  

Here’s a random side note. Another little friend was at the party and wasn’t going to be able to eat the cupcakes until the mother found out the cupcakes were dairy and egg free. I had no idea another little friend with food allergies was there. That just blessed my heart that another little friend was able to freely and safely partake of all the food!

rapunzel-open-box-close-up

So, there ya go, my friends. Another yummy, safe, and fun birthday cake.

rapunzel-at-party

Here the cupcakes are in action.  My cousin also made Rapunzel Fruit Tower kabobs.  How cute!

rapunzel-skillet-plates-cupcakes

My cousin also made these adorable “skillet” paper plates.  She’s so crafty!

Wacky Cake
(Double this recipe if needed. Each recipe yields approximately 24 cupcakes.)

Dry Ingredients:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons of cocoa OR For Vanilla Cupcakes, omit cocoa
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Wet Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup oil (I use canola)
  • 2 Tablespoons vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla (use 1 Tablespoon vanilla if making vanilla cupcakes)
  • 2 cups cold water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Put dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and stir with a wooden spoon.
  3. Add wet ingredients. Beat well until blended. (I use a stand mixer.)
  4. Pour using 1/4 cup batter per cupcake liner.
  5. Put the pans in the oven and bake for approximately 15 minutes per batch, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

