How to have a Dairy Free and Egg Free Birthday Party

image

We recently drove a VERY long way to be apart of my precious niece’s third birthday party. I asked my sister (because she is my sister- I don’t think I could ever ask anyone else to do this!) if she would have a dairy free and egg free party for her daughter. We didn’t want to travel all that way and endanger SG’s health and also to have her cry. Yes, she cries now when she can’t have what everyone else is eating at a party…she’s just two and doesn’t quite understand why she can’t eat the same cupcakes as everyone else at parties.

My sweet sister said yes to a dairy and egg free party. Here’s how we pulled off a Spider-Man party for a precious three year old little girl. 🙂 Here’s what we did.

I baked dairy free and egg free cupcakes at my house. I didn’t want to risk cross contamination by making them at my mom’s house (our destination.) I made a batch of chocolate and vanilla cupcakes at my house and froze them. We brought them to South Carolina in our cooler. If you’re not traveling and you most likely aren’t, skip the freezing step. Unless, of course, you want to bake these puppies a few weeks in advance. That makes for a less stressful preparation the day of the party!

Thanks Kara for sharing this recipe with me!

Granny’s No Egg Cake/Depression Era Cake
Dry Ingredients:
3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
6 Tablespoons of cocoa (for vanilla cupcakes, omit cocoa)
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt

Wet Ingredients:
3/4 cup oil (I use canola)
2 Tablespoons vinegar
2 teaspoons vanilla (use 1 Tablespoon vanilla if making vanilla cupcakes)
2 cups cold water

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Put dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and stir with a wooden spoon.
3. Add wet ingredients. Beat well until blended.
4. Line cupcake tin with paper baking cups. Add batter using 1/4 cup measuring cup. Bake approximately 18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. You can also bake this as a cake. The time will vary. I made a smaller round cake and it took approximately 35 minutes while a much deeper heart cake took closer to an hour.

image

I use Pillsbury vanilla frosting and Pillsbury chocolate fudge frosting. For the party, we used chocolate fudge frosting and my sister bought some cute Spider-Man picks made especially for cakes and we stuck these in the cupcakes to dress them up a bit. She put them on a stand and decorated the table and it looked FAB! The guests raved about the cupcakes and some even asked for the recipe! Make these. Right now. 🙂

Here are the snacks we had at the party: Oreos, a fresh fruit salad, fresh veggies with Sabra hummus, Ritz crackers, Rold Gold Pretzel Sticks, Lays Kettle Cooked Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper Potato Chips, and lemonade juice boxes for the children.

image

image

image

This was the FIRST birthday party I have taken SG to that I could rest easy and not have to hover over her in fear. Thanks Sissay for being so accommodating and for having a SAFE haven for your little niece, my child.

To all of you mamas out there, food allergy parents or not, you can have a rockin’ and yummy party- DAIRY AND EGG FREE!

14 thoughts on “How to have a Dairy Free and Egg Free Birthday Party

  1. That was so nice of your sister to be so open to a dairy and egg free party! So the chocolate Pillsbury frosting is dairy free? My son doesn’t like chocolate, so I’ve never looked at it. We use the vanilla or white Pillsbury frosting and I am so thankful he can have this!

  2. Pingback: Vacationing with Food Allergies | Blessed Little Family

  3. Pingback: Most Read Posts in 2014 | Blessed Little Family

  4. Pingback: 6 Easy Homemade Mixes for the Pantry: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

  5. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Treat Ideas: Food Allergy Friendly | Blessed Little Family

  6. Pingback: 28 Days of Dairy & Egg Free Dinners | Blessed Little Family

  7. Pingback: Chocolate Peanut Butter, Almond & Raisin Granola Bars: Dairy & Egg Free | Blessed Little Family

  8. Pingback: Allergy Friendly Cakes & Cupcakes | Blessed Little Family

Leave a comment